The difference between NVRAM and PRAM is mostly superficial.
The older PRAM used a small dedicated battery to keep the RAM power up at all times, even when the Mac was disconnected from power.
When you upgrade, you will clear your NVRAM, causing you to lose all of your saved settings.
Take any notes you will need to recreate your settings before you begin the upgrade process.
Once the jumpers are correctly set and power is supplied this will then reset the BIOS on the system. The NVRAM will be cleared when the jumper is closed (use the jumper from the password bridge (PSWD)).